yeah…ubf remembers too…

i hate tony romo…whew…sorry…i just had to get that off my chest…

*in my best Sophia from the golden girls impression*

picture it, cincinnati… september 11th 2001 around 9:03 a.m. i moseyed into my local circuit city to purchase my copy of jay-z’s blueprint album (yeah i liked to get there early so i could buy new joints and play them all day at work to develop an opinion about it before i talked to anyone else) and…rumor has it, that classic, couldn’t even be stopped by bin laden…cheesy, but i had to do it…

as i skipped out of my office on this unapproved field trip, i vaguely heard one of my coworkers mention something about a plane and the world trade center, but not wanting to get entangled in mindless office chatter, i decided to pretend like i didn’t hear it…

i arrived at circuit city to find the entire staff staked out in the television department watching what i thought was some training video on new hd technology or something…i grabbed my cd and arrived at an untended register and thought “this must be how larcenist are born”…a staff member must’ve noticed the cloud of menace hovering above me and apologetically rushed over to assist me with my purchase

as she performed her scan and swipe thing, i noticed her eyes had developed the type of bags that only eye water could produce…being a concerned southern gentlemen, i asked if everything was ok…”it’s horrible” she stated as she raised her head to glance back over to her colleagues swarming the sonys and sharps…

at that point, i was still not sold on the hd technology either…i mean i was willing to describe it as overpriced, but i thought “horrible” was a bit of an overstatement…i grabbed my small plastic pouch and thanked her as my mind was stilling trying to sum 2 and 2…then all of a sudden, the 4 smacked me dead in the face…

peaking through the shoulders of the employees and other store shoppers that had joined them, i saw what appeared to be smoke billowing from 2 of the most fantastic structures i had ever laid my eyes on…right there, in the middle of the sky line that made me fall in love with skylines in my youth…in a city i had visited a mere 5 days before, our innocence was laid to rest…

i spent the next 45 minutes trying to piece together the story, the next few days trying to reach my nyc peeps, the next few months trying to come to grips with the tragedy and the last 10 years attempting to understand the part of human nature that a) allows these types of acts to graduate from a heinous far flung idea to a full fledged atrocity and b) allows a city of over 8 million loosely connected individuals to muster up the strength, courage and determination necessary to rebound and remain all that new york city is…

although my love for speaking to strangers and my poor parallel parking may be causing a delay in my membership card shipment, i am now a new yorker and i was proud to share the streets this weekend with those brave souls who both lived and lost on that infamous day 10 years ago…

ubf peeps…where were you when you heard…

elrock…but, unfortunately i’m still a cowboys fan though…another tragedy for another day…

About usbottlesandfriends
The tales of unpredictable truths from those guys your mom warned you about.

Leave a Reply

