only in the A…

Of course I had to make the trek across the country to Atlanta to see the homie elrock’s commencement from  grad school. But given the 20 months that had passed since my last visit, I had forgotten a few of the finer things offered in hotlanta…like the default tea coming with a side of diabetes…or the red dirt that you can’t seem to get out of your air max 90’s air pocket…or the large acceptance of gentlemen’s clubs as a leading choice for the evening’s activity…or the likelihood of the dj taking the typical down south set and breaking it out by actual cities (Memphis stand up…Tupelo where you at?)…

By far the most distinguishing factor of the A vs other cities would have to be the ferocity with which the ladies get their hollerage on. Visiting as a man who merely resembles a gentleman who might be interested in a southern belle’s company guarantees the full on bachelor tv show treatment. The ladies take general receptivity and turn it up to one hunnid. Don’t believe me? Well I have a slightly intoxicated and mildly fabricated story to prove it…

The last time I touched down in Georgia *Ray Charles voice* I decided to trick off some of my starwood points and stay at the W. As I waited for one of the homies who happened to be running behind to scoop me, I made my way up to the famous whiskey blue lounge for some of their namesake liquid delight. Given the relative youngness of the night, it was pretty slow and I had my choice of seats at the bar. This particular whiskey blue had outdoor seating which the other drunks had decided to hold down. While I chose to limit the amount of distance between me and the bottle, they selected the scenic views of the city along with rather attractive cocktail waitresses. It’s all about priorities folks…

Interestingly enough all of the waitresses were required to come back to the bar to collect the good time juice for their patrons. I then realize my decision was indeed a wise one. While I’m enjoying one of Kentucky’s finest bourbons, I notice one of the waitresses paying extra attention to me. As a professional eye flirt, I was able to pick up on her optical gestures in my direction. Given her cute face combined with ample bosom for post coital napping, I didn’t turn away from said gestures.

After my second drink, I realized the homie would be arriving soon so I decided to drop off some of my newly collected liquids before closing my tab and heading out. Upon returning to the bar, I notice the same waitress headed directly towards me with an accelerated pep in her step. Following a quick introduction, she explains that she thought I had left and then follows that up with the most amazing line I may have ever heard during that 22 minute period…”you need to take these digits”…

[Pause for dramatic effect]

You see she was completely decked out in her work appropriate cocktail dress, stockings and knee high boots which made it difficult for me to collect the necessary information needed to classify her as hood cute (think new new from ATL) vs regular cute. But her opening demand erased any of that uncertainty…

So after taking her number…don’t tell me you thought I wasn’t going to…we exchanged a few texts and decided on brunch the next day before my flight back to the city of angels. Given her classification, we weren’t just going to pop into a regular waffle house. She took me to an authentic brunch joint where fish and grits were bountiful and dang good for those scoring at home. But I had a boarding pass taking me home with no real plans of returning in the near future and as you can imagine she wasn’t heading west anytime soon. The distance combined with differing communication styles led us to fondly look back on that chance meeting and strongly encouraged exchange of phone numbers as a limited time exchange.  But I wasn’t surprised at all as that is what I have come to expect to find in the A…

Any ATL residents have a different take? Any ubf travelers experienced similar things?

onetrik…you probably won’t find me in the A…

About usbottlesandfriends
The tales of unpredictable truths from those guys your mom warned you about.

6 Responses to only in the A…

  1. Marcie says:

    I can’t object bc I’ve seen it happen waaaay too much IN the A. I can; however, say that the majority of the chics doing this are not FROM the A. Sadly, they are truly misrepresenting what it means to be a Southern Belle — a term which should be reserved for ladies (young & old) who understand and embody all of its finer qualities!

    — Reppin ATL (PRE — Freaknic, So So Def, Olympics, Outkast’s 3rd album, mass NYC exodus, Housewives, & any other ISH that brings transplants here)

    • residing in the capital city of transplants I definitely feel you BUT I must admit that the young lady referenced in this story was born and raised in the A…

      in other related news, I definitely agree that things dun changed in the last 5-7 years down there but I can’t put my finger on what actually caused it…thoughts?

  2. Soumynona says:

    The solo roll is mad advantageous…stay thirsty my friends…

  3. “you need to take these digits”- LOL. I am not sure I can even give her a A for effort. There is a serious art form to approaching a man, those who are really good at it make the man feel like he was the one who made the first move!

    • blame it on the sobriety but I’d say that their isn’t much art form to it if he wants you to holler…as long as he thinks you are fine your approach is not important…the art form lies in knowing whether or not he’ll be receptive…

Leave a Reply

